General Strength and Core – Conflicting Instructions

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Mairsile
    Participant

I’m new to the EE and UH community and am confused by what I feel like is conflicting instructions in the Killer Core and General Strength Routines. There are more than this, but here are some examples that I’m looking for clarity on.

Killer Core Isometric Hold Conflict

When adding the program to Training Peaks, the descriptions say,

Do each exercise, either holding each of the static ones for 10 seconds or performing 10 reps (5/side where applicable).

But this doesn’t match what the PDFs say. For example, killer core says in the opening paragraphs,

To build strength (rather than endurance) you need to have enough resistance and strict form so that you will reach failure within 5-6 reps or 5-6 seconds of an isometric hold.

And then under exercises like the Three Point, it says,

hold till you feel your shoulders rotate, hips rotate or your back sag—anything that gets you out of the straight line you were in when you started the push up position. In turn, pick up each limb and hold till failure.

So which is it with exercises like that? Should I be just holding it for 10 seconds and making it harder until that’s all I can do? Should it be 5-6 seconds? Or should it just be however long I can hold it, even if that means minutes?

General Strength Conflict

Similarly, the general strength gives these instructions in the Training Peaks app.

Do 10 repetitions (10/side where applicable).

But then under a move like the Turkish Get Up, the PDF says,

When you can do five reps of each hand, then increase the weight.

So which is it? 10 per side or 5 per side?

Scott Johnston
    Keymaster

Mairsile: